Battery Place

Faces of every continent meet
And surround the attractions on each street
Every corner they adorn
But mine is a fate of water born
The river Hudson I call my friend
On whose rolling ripples I depend
For a brief holiday of solitude
When I take my lunch around twelve noon
While the rest visit Lady Liberty
I choose the tranquil side of my city
When I depart at one I close the door
On the sights I’ve beheld many times before
But I still am under the water’s spell
Of changing tides and musty smell.

Leave a Reply

